A Year Ago Today

A year ago today, I was teaching an inquiry based unit in my class.

A year ago today, I was pulled out of my classroom for a phone call.

A year ago today, I was afraid when I heard the voice on the other end, confident that she had bad news to share.

A year ago today, I braced myself for bad news of a dear friend passing away, due to old age.

A year ago today, I should have taken her advice to sit down more seriously.

A year ago today, I received the highest honor and biggest challenge in my life.

A year ago today, a challenge to continue trying to teach Micah 6:8 was set placed in my life.

A year ago today, I cried as I called my dad to tell him the news. 

A year ago today, he yelled so loudly into the phone that my ears rang.

A year ago today, my journey took a bit of a different turn than I had anticipated.

A year ago today, that different turn shifted me towards new opportunities, new people, new experiences, and new friends.

And now, today, I wonder if I am matching who I was a year ago today. I hope that I am continuing to be challenged and moved and shifted from the ordinary path. It is easy for things to fade into the background of the routine and the busy-ness and the mundane aspects of life. 

But a year ago today, I was challenged to not be ordinary for the sake of justice and good. So today, I will try to reflect on what this past year has meant for me and how each and every day from a year ago today needs to push in the direction of justice, mercy, love, kingdom-obedience.  A year ago today changed me.  So, I will continue to work to meet that challenge still today and the many more days to come.

A year ago today.

One thought on “A Year Ago Today

Leave a Reply

