Dear Hate Mail Sender:

To the person who decided to send me hate mail, I have been trying to think of the right words in response but I will simply say this: Though I imagine the disturbing, hurtful, and offensive Anti-Semitic literature, cartoons, and “mis”information, along with your supposed “proof” that the Holocaust never happened documentation that you sent my way was intended to sway my teaching and approach to Holocaust education for high school students, I will let you know this.  You have further reminded me why this topic is more important today than ever.  You have given me tangible evidence to my students that Anti-Semitism and this level of hatred still exists today, even when they often can’t believe this could be true.  You have given me examples of what happens when we hate instead of love, when we break apart instead of come together.  I suppose I should thank you for giving me the encouragement to keep teaching my course about this horrific event in history, so terrible that people often deny it could ever be possible.  I am thankful for the opportunity to teach students who have empathy and hearts towards what is right, just, and truthful. I am saddened that you seem to be struggling in that area. I do wish you had included your real name and contact information, as you worked so diligently to find mine, so that we could actually dialogue about these issues you wanted to bring to my attention. In my opinion, anonymity is not courage.  Being able to dialogue face-to-face, human-to-human, even with those we may not agree with, is courage.  So, because I cannot contact you, this fb post will have to do.  I will end this rant with the words of a wise man, Elie Wiesel, a Holocaust survivor (though you would call him a liar): “I swore never to be silent whenever and wherever human beings endure suffering and humiliation. We must always take sides.” Thanks for reminding me to continue working to scream out against injustice.  

Leave a Reply

