Lessons on Worship

(start listening around 7 minutes in)

My Dad has taught me many things. How to ride my bike. How to tie my shoes.  How to check my oil.  But perhaps one of the most valuable lessons he ever taught me, without intentionally ever doing so, was how to worship.

When I say this, I don’t mean my father sat me down, told me the “do’s” and “don’t’s” of worship – what to sing, how to sing, why to sing.  I don’t mean my dad said there was a right way and a wrong way.  I never had a lesson.  I never read a book or sat in a classroom.

All I had to do was sit beside my father in church on Sunday.  All I had to do was listen. Watch.

My Dad has always had a boisterous voice when he sings.  A voice so loud your ears hurt.  A voice that makes the little children sitting ahead of us turn their heads in wonderment.  A voice that sings over all of the other voices.  He has always had the loudest voice in church.

Though one might think this is intentional, it is not.  My dad is not trying to gain attention.  He is not trying to outsing anyone. He simply is singing from his heart.

When I was younger, I was embarrassed.  Why does he sing so loud? Why isn’t he quieter? Doesn’t he notice people looking? My face would turn red.

Funny how things change.  The older I grew, the more I came to appreciate his voice. His beautiful, deep voice.  His attention to detail. His passion and “oomph”.  I began to realize that he truly sang from his heart.  He sang from his soul.

My father wasn’t just singing loudly. He was praising His Savior with everything in him.  From the depths of his belly, his lips poured out praise.  I began to admire my father for being so passionate and in tune with His God, not caring about the world around him.

So now, as I stand with my father in church, I sing loudly too.  I sing for love of my Father.  I sing for my love for my father who mirrors the Father’s love so fully.  Through my father’s love for his Father, I have learned what worship is.  Worship is uninhibited. It is passionate and boisterous. It is “loud”.

Leave a Reply

